Disney+ has finally launched in the U.S. and that's good news for Marvel fans. Disney+ will be the new future home of all things Marvel once they leave theaters, which means quite a few hours could be spent on the new streaming service simply revisiting the Marvel Cinematic Universe. Initially, it looked like the MCU offerings were going to be a bit sparse, but Disney came through at the last minute and added quite a few additional titles.

At launch, Disney+ will now feature 16 MCU titles, ranging from 2008's Iron Man, which started it all, to this year's Avengers: Endgame. Taking to Twitter just ahead of the U.S. launch of the service, the company confirmed that several additional titles had been added to the lineup at the last minute. It was also promised that more titles will be announced in the near future.

"From Iron Man to Endgame, see the newly announced Marvel Studios titles that will be available to stream starting tomorrow on #DisneyPlus, including Expanding the Universe, a new look at the original series coming to the service. Look out for more titles to be announced soon."

The full list now includes Captain America: The First Avenger, Iron Man, Ant-Man, Iron Man 2, Captain America: The Winter Soldier, Doctor Strange, Thor, Guardians of the Galaxy, Avengers: Age of Ultron, Captain America: Civil War, Thor: The Dark World, The Avengers, Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2, Iron Man 3, Captain Marvel and Avengers: Endgame. That's a much more comprehensive list than was originally revealed. Though, there are some glaring Marvel superhero movie omissions, such as Infinity War, which is a direct lead-in to Avengers: Endgame, and Black Panther, amongst others.

As the tweet also notes, there is a documentary called Expanding the Universe, which takes a behind-the-scenes look at the MCU. Specifically, the shows that are being produced for Disney+ that will be firmly rooted in the MCU, which will heavily tie into the movies in a much more significant way than other live-action Marvel shows of late have. The Falcon and the Winter Soldier, WandaVision, Hawkeye, Loki, She-Hulk, Moon Knight, Ms. Marvel and the animated What If? are all on deck. Unfortunately, none of the shows are available at launch, but they will start rolling out in 2020.

RELATED: Marvel's WandaVision and The Falcon and the Winter Soldier Get Disney+ Release Dates

Marvel fans will also be able to enjoy quite a few classic Marvel shows, such as the 90s Spider-Man series and X-Men: The Animated Series, amongst many others. As far as why not every MCU movie is available right away, Disney had quite a few pre-existing content deals with various companies, and those contracts are getting in the way of some content being made available initially. But, over time, once those deals expire, or Disney cuts some sort of deal, more titles will hit the service. Disney+ costs $6.99 per month or $69.99 annually and is available now.

  • New Marvel MCU Movies Added to Disney+ Launch Day
  • Iron Man 2
  • • Thor
  • • Captain America: The First Avenger
  • • The Avengers
  • • Captain America: The Winter Soldier
  • • Captain America: Civil War
  • • Doctor Strange
  • • Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2

Ryan Scott at Movieweb
Ryan Scott